Canberra Exhibit at Regatta Point

Canberra has several man-made lakes (a kind of apology for being the only Australian capital city without a beach), and dozens of picturesque penninsulas including the tourist-oriented Regatta Point.

I’ve been there several times in my life, and my favourite part within the Canberra exhibit (which is pleasantly compact) is a beautifully made 3D display that talks to you at the press of a button, and lights up the areas of Canberra that it’s talking about. It reminds me very much of certain videos of Walt Disney (or the equivalent 50s-ish videos in Iron Man 2). It’s very well done, and I’ve found it strangely compelling since the first time I saw it as a child.

 

Leave a Reply

